Awards & Grants

Debanjan Sengupta Awarded NASA Fellowship

Debanjan Sengupta has been awarded the prestigious NASA Post-doctoral Program (NPP) fellowship. He will be traveling to California to work at NASA Ames Research Center with Dr. Jeff Cuzzi on a project titled “Transport of Volatiles in Protoplanetary Nebulae: Connecting Observations with Global Simulations". His research will potentially help address some long-standing meteoritic puzzles and the early formation history of our solar system. Congratulations, Debanjan!

Prof. Hadjipanayis awarded new U.S. Department of Energy Grant

In the proposed study, various Mn1-xBix compositions in the vicinity of the MnBi stoichiometry will be synthesized through argon arc-melting and subjected to melt-spinning at conditions assuring an amorphous state of the products. Crystallization of the melt-spun alloys into the MnBi LTP structure will then be systematically studied for different heating rates, temperatures, exposure times and external magnetic fields. Characterization of the phases, microstructure and magnetic properties will allow for a better understanding of the practical aspects of the MnBi LTP metallurgy.

George Hadjipanayis honored by international organization

October 26, 2016 - George Hadjipanayis, Richard B. Murray Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Delaware, has received international recognition for his outstanding contributions in the field of rare-earth permanent magnets.

Syndicate content