Skip to main content
The American Physical Society has honored William Matthaeus, University of Delaware Unidel Professor of Physics and Astronomy, for pioneering research in the nature of turbulence in space and astrophysical plasma.

July 26, 2019 - American Physical Society prize recognizes pioneering work in plasma physics The American Physical Society, one of the largest organizations of physicists in the world, has awarded its 2019 James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics to William Matthaeus, Unidel Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Delaware. The prize, which includes a $10,000 award, recognizes Matthaeus “for pioneering research into the nature of turbulence in space and astrophysical plasmas, which has led to major advances in understanding particle transport, dissipation of turbulent energy and magnetic reconnection.” In other words, Matthaeus’ study of the sun’s complex atmosphere — especially the solar wind and its associated magnetic fields and turbulence that define so much of its influence — has greatly enhanced our understanding of the universe. The selection committee included: James Drake, chair (University of Maryland), Raul Sanchez, vice chair (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain), 2018 recipient Keith Burrell (General Atomics), Gilbert Collins (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) and Yu Lin (Auburn University).


Article by Beth Miller

Photo by Evan Krape