Awards & Grants

2014 Daicar-Bata honorees

October 6, 2014 - Halise Celik and Colby Haggerty, doctoral students in the University of Delaware Department of Physics and Astronomy, have been awarded prestigious Daicar-Bata Prizes. Each year, the department recognizes exceptional doctoral student accomplishments by awarding two Daicar-Bata Prizes -- one for the best research paper in a physics or astronomy peer reviewed journal published during the previous academic year and another for the highest grade point average in physics and astronomy courses at the end of the student's sixth semester in the program.

Dr. Holder awarded grant from the National Science Foundation

August 7, 2014 - Dr. Jaime Holder has been awarded a grant entitled, "Astroparticle Physics with the VERITAS Gamma-Ray Observatory". This continues the study of supernova remnants, pulsars, active galactic nuclei, starburst galaxies, and stellar-mass binary systems with VERITAS, an array of four large imaging atmospheric Cherenkov telescopes in Arizona.

Dr. Safronova awarded grant from the National Institute of Standards and Technology

August 1, 2014 - Dr. Marianna Safronova has been awarded a grant for "Modeling of Optically Trapped Atoms for Quantum Information and Atomic Clocks" to search for new approaches to reduce uncertainties of optical clocks and develop theoretical models to propose and optimize quantum control schemes for quantum simulation and quantum computation applications of particular interest to the NIST mission.

Nominations have closed for the 2015 Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit

July 2, 2014 - The University of Delaware invites nominations for the 2015 Karl W. Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit. Nominations must be received by Sept. 17, 2014.

Drs. Unruh and DeCamp awarded grant from the National Science Foundation

July 30, 2014 - Dr. Karl Unruh and Dr. Matt DeCamp have been awarded a grant from the National Science Foundation entitled, "Collaborative Research: Experimental and Computational Studies of Solid-State Diffusion and New Phase Formation in Bimetallic Nanostructures".

Syndicate content